Skip to main content

Databases by Discipline

Databases by Discipline

The databases below are intended to get you quickly started with your research in the various engineering disciplines. They index journal articles, conference papers, and technical reports.  For a more complete listing of engineering resources, see Engineering Research Guides. The Cornell Library search articles webpage is another quick way of searching, but does not cover all the databases. Help is available at engrref@cornell.edu and (607) 255-5933.

Engineering Field Recommended Database
All Inclusive Science and Engineering Indices
Compendex, INSPEC, Web of ScienceGoogle Scholar, NTIS, Proquest Digital Dissertations, CRC EngNetBase, Knovel, Access Engineering
Applied & Engineering Physics INSPEC, SPIE Digital Library, Scitation (AIP journals)
Automotive and Transportation Engineering
SAE Digital Library, Compendex, TRB Publications Index,
Biological and Environmental Engineering
Compendex (Engineering Village 2), AgricolaBIOSIS
Biomedical Engineering
Compendex, PubMed, Medline, BIOSIS, SPIE Digital Library, VIVO
Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Compendex, BIOSIS, SciFinder
Civil and Environmental Engineering
Compendex, ASCE Research LibraryNTIS, OnePetro, Water Resources Abstracts
Computer Science
INSPEC, IEEE Xplore, ACM Portal, Lecture Notes in Computer Science, Lecture Notes in Control and Information Science, Safari Tech Books Online, Books24x7.com, Morgan & Claypool
Earth and Atmospheric Sciences
GeoRef, American Geophysical Union, Geological Society of America, Glossary of Geology, Lyell Collection (Geological Society of London), OnePetro
Electrical and Computer Engineering
IEEE Xplore, INSPEC, SPIE Digital Library, ENGnetBASE and NANOnetBASE
Energy
DOE Information Bridge, Compendex, Energy Citations Database
Materials Science and Engineering
Compendex, INSPEC, ASTM Standards, ASM Handbooks, ASM Alloy Phase Diagrams, MRS Online ProceedingsPhase Equilibria Diagrams (American Ceramic Society) SciFinder
Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
Compendex, AIAA Online Meeting Papers, SAE Digital Library, ASHRAE Standards
Operations Research and Information Engineering
Compendex, JSTOR
Theoretical and Applied Mechanics Compendex, MathSciNet, INSPEC
Other Resources  
Business, trade and scholarly journals, newspapers
Business Source Premier, ProQuest Direct, ProQuest Historical (NY Times), Lexis/Nexis, Readers Guide Retrospective
E-Books 
ENGnetBASE and NANOnetBASE (CRC), Knovel, Books24x7.comNetLibrary, Safari Books Online , and McGraw-Hill Access Engineering, Morgan & Claypool
E-Journals 
see e-Journals title list
Encyclopedias and Handbooks
AccessScience @ McGraw-Hill, CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, Knovel, ENGnetBASE and NANOnetBASE (CRC)
Patents Google Patents, Patent Lens, MicroPatent, PatentFetcher, more
Standards, Codes
ANSI, ASTM Standards, ASHRAE Standards, MADCAD (inc. international and state building codes)
Technical Reports NTIS (National Technical Information Service), DOE Information Bridge, NASA, Technical Reports Guide
Theses  
Proquest Digital Dissertations, Cornell Dissertations (selected full-text from 1996)
World Library Catalogs
WorldCat